Today’s Top Story

New AAOS Board members and council/cabinet chairs announced

At the AAOS Business Meeting during the 2018 AAOS Annual Meeting, AAOS President William J. Maloney, MD, introduced the new members of the AAOS Board of Directors and council/cabinet chairs. They include the following:

  • Joseph A. Bosco, III, MD—Second vice-president
  • Elizabeth G. Matzkin, MD—Member-at-large
  • Thomas W. Throckmorton, MD—Member-at-large
  • Thomas G. Muzzonigro, MD—Board of Councilors secretary
  • C. Craig Satterlee, MD—Board of Specialty Societies secretary
  • Alan S. Hilibrand, MD, MBA—Treasurer-elect
  • Paul Tornetta, III, MD—Council on Education chair
  • Robert H. Quinn, MD—Council on Research and Quality chair
  • Jennifer M. Weiss, MD—Communications Cabinet chair
Other News

Study: Prone radiographs may help save fusion levels when treating adult AIS

Findings from Paper 703, to be presented at the AAOS Annual Meeting, suggest that radiographs taken with the patient in a prone position may help reduce the number of fusion levels needed to correct adult idiopathic scoliosis (AIS). Researchers prospectively collected data on 210 patients in three cohorts: prone radiographs used to determine lowest instrumented vertebra (LIV; n = 83), standing anteroposterior radiographs used to determine LIV (n = 27), and nonsurgical scoliosis controls (n = 100). At two-year follow-up, the researchers found that patients in the prone radiograph cohort maintained coronal balance and correction, and LIV tilt and disk wedging were within acceptable levels, based on control participants. They estimated that patients in the standing cohort could have saved an average of 2.24 (range: 1 to 4) fusion levels if prone radiographs had instead been used to determine LIV.

Read more…

Drs. Gebhardt, Wilkerson, and Jimenez receive AAOS awards

At the Your Academy 2018 meeting yesterday, Mark C. Gebhardt, MD, received the AAOS Diversity Award; Rick D. Wilkerson, DO, received the AAOS Humanitarian Award; and Ramon Jimenez, MD, received the William W. Tipton Jr, MD, Leadership Award.

Read more about Dr. Gebhardt…

Read more about Dr. Wilkerson…

Read more about Dr. Jimenez…

Kappa Delta and OREF Awards presented; papers to be presented at ORS Annual Meeting

The 2018 Kappa Delta and Orthopaedic Research and Educational Foundation (OREF) Awards were presented during yesterday’s Your Academy 2018 event at the AAOS Annual Meeting. The 2018 award recipients are as follows:

  • Johnny Huard, PhD—2018 Kappa Delta Ann Doner Vaughn Award
  • Paul E. Beaulé, MD, FRCSC—2018 Kappa Delta Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award
  • Nelly Andarawis-Puri, PhD—2018 Kappa Delta Young Investigator Award
  • Gregory B. Maletis, MD—2018 OREF Clinical Research Award

The award winners will present their papers on Sunday, March 11, from 2:15 p.m.–3:15 p.m. at the Orthopaedic Research Society (ORS) Annual Meeting, Hyatt Regency New Orleans. ORS invites AAOS Annual Meeting registrants to attend the ORS Annual Meeting on Sunday, March 11, at no cost. However, all AAOS meeting registrants must obtain a sticker for their AAOS meeting badge. Stickers can be obtained on Sunday, March 11, at ORS registration, Hyatt Regency New Orleans, Empire Foyer (Level 2).

Read more about the Kappa Delta Ann Doner Vaughn Award research…

Read more about the Kappa Delta Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award research…

Read more about the Kappa Delta Young Investigator Award research…

Read more about the OREF Clinical Research Award research…


Remember to make time for Specialty Day!

Onsite registration is available for the 31st annual Specialty Day, during which 14 orthopaedic specialty societies will present cutting-edge technology and medical advancements in their areas of expertise. Specialty Day meetings will take place on Saturday, March 10, in various locations in the Morial Convention Center.

Read more…

Last call: CMS Advisory Panel on Hospital Outpatient Payment

AAOS seeks to nominate members to the CMS Advisory Panel on Hospital Outpatient Payment. The panel advises the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services and CMS on the clinical integrity of the Ambulatory Payment Classification groups and their associated weights, and supervision of hospital outpatient therapeutic services. Applicants for this position must be active fellows, candidate members, candidate members osteopathic, candidate member applicants for fellowship, or candidate member applicants for fellowship osteopathic. In addition, all applicants must provide the following: an online AAOS CAP application, a current curriculum vitae, a 100-word biography, and a letter of interest highlighting his or her expertise in the subject area. All supporting materials must be submitted to Kyle Trivedi by March 15, 2018, at 11:59 p.m. CT, at:

Learn more and submit your application…  (member login required)