Today’s Top Story
New AAOS Board members and council chair announced.
At the AAOS Business Meeting during the 2017 AAOS Annual Meeting, AAOS President Gerald R. Williams Jr, MD, introduced the new members of the AAOS Board of Directors. They include the following:

  • Kristy L. Weber, MD—Second vice-president
  • Jacob M. Buchowski, MD, MS—Member-at-large
  • Ronald A. Navarro, MD—Member-at-large
  • Robert M. Orfaly, MD, FRCS—Board of Councilors secretary
  • Dirk H. Alander, MD—Board of Specialty Societies secretary
  • James J. Balaschak—Lay member
  • Douglas W. Lundy, MD, MBA—Council on Advocacy chair

Other News

Study: PSI for TKA may improve accuracy of femoral and global alignment, but not tibial alignment.
Data from a study published in the March 15 issue of The Journal of Bone & Joint Surgery suggest that use of patient-specific instrumentation (PSI) in total knee arthroplasty (TKA) may improve the accuracy of femoral component alignment and global mechanical alignment, but increase risk of outliers for tibial component alignment. The research team conducted a meta-analysis of 44 studies covering 2,866 knees that underwent surgery using PSI and 2,956 knees that underwent surgery with standard instrumentation. For PSI compared to standard instrumentation, they found that the pooled relative risk (RR) of mechanical axis malalignment was 0.79, the pooled RR of femoral coronal-plane malalignment was 0.74, and the pooled RR of tibial sagittal-plane malalignment was 1.32. PSI was also associated with minor reductions in total operative time and blood loss. Read the abstract…

Drs. Grant, Spiegel, and Robb receive AAOS awards.
At the Your Academy 2017 meeting yesterday, Richard E. Grant, MD, received the AAOS Diversity Award, David A. Spiegel, MD, received the AAOS Humanitarian Award, and William J. Robb III, MD, received the William W. Tipton, Jr, MD, Leadership Award. Read more about Dr. Grant…
Read more about Dr. Spiegel…
Read more about Dr. Robb…

Kappa Delta and OREF Awards presented; papers to be presented at ORS meeting.
The 2017 Kappa Delta and Orthopaedic Research and Educational Foundation (OREF) Awards were presented at yesterday’s Your Academy 2017 event at the AAOS 2017 Annual Meeting in San Diego. The award winners will present their papers on Sunday, March 19, during the Orthopaedic Research Society (ORS) annual meeting, being held at the San Diego Convention Center. ORS invites AAOS Annual Meeting registrants to attend the ORS annual meeting on Sunday, March 19, at no cost; however, they must obtain a sticker for their badges. Stickers can be obtained on Friday, March 17, and Saturday, March 18, at ORS satellite check-in, located at the San Diego Convention Center, in the corridor outside room 5. Stickers can also be obtained on Sunday, March 19, at the ORS registration desk at the San Diego Convention Center, upper level, outside Room 5. The award winners are as follows:

  • Matthew Barrett Dobbs, MD—2017 Kappa Delta Ann Doner Vaughn Award
  • Scott W. Wolfe, MD—2017 Kappa Delta Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award
  • Robin Queen, PhD, FACSM—2017 Kappa Delta Young Investigator Award
  • Henrik Malchau, MD, PhD—2017 OREF Clinical Research Award

Read more about the Kappa Delta Ann Doner Vaughn Award research…
Read more about the Kappa Delta Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award research…
Read more about the Kappa Delta Young Investigator Award research…
Read more about the OREF Clinical Research Award research…

Remember to make time for Specialty Day!
Onsite registration is available for the 29th annual Specialty Day, which features 16 orthopaedic specialty societies presenting cutting-edge technology and medical advancements in their areas of expertise. This year, Specialty Day welcomes two new participants in the lineup: the Musculoskeletal Infection Society and the Orthopaedic Research Society. Specialty Day takes place Saturday, March 18.

Call for volunteers: Central Evaluation Committee.
April 15 is the last day to submit your application for a position on the Central Evaluation Committee. Members of the Central Evaluation Committee write questions for the Orthopaedic In-Training Examination. The following openings are available:

  • Hand (two members)
  • Oncology (one member)
  • Shoulder and elbow (one member)

Applicants for these positions must be active or emeritus fellows with a practice emphasis in the relevant topic. Learn more and submit your application…(member login required)