Today’s Top Story
New AAOS Board members and council chair announced.
At the AAOS Business Meeting during the 2016 AAOS Annual Meeting, AAOS President David D. Teuscher, MD, introduced the new members of the AAOS Board of Directors. They include the following:

  • David A. Halsey, MD—Second Vice-President
  • M. Bradford Henley, MD, MBA—Treasurer
  • Robert H. Brophy, MD—Member-at-large
  • Brian J. Galinat, MD, MBA—Member-at-large
  • Brian G. Smith, MD—Board of Specialty Societies Chair
  • Amy L. Ladd, MD—Board of Specialty Societies Secretary
  • Lawrence S. Halperin, MD—Board of Councilors Chair
  • Basil R. Besh, MD—Board of Councilors Secretary
  • David Jevsevar, MD, MBA—Council on Research and Quality Chair


Other News

Study: Use of AAOS AUC linked to improved clinical outcomes for patients with full-thickness RCT.
A study published online in the Journal of Shoulder and Elbow Surgery examines the efficacy of AAOS appropriate use criteria (AUC) in determining the appropriateness of treatment options for full-thickness rotator cuff tears (RCTs). The researchers entered information on 134 patients with full-thickness RCTs into the AAOS web-based AUC application and compared with actual treatments and outcomes at 32- and 48-week follow-ups. They noted excellent agreement between AAOS AUC recommendations and actual treatment administered, with administered treatment considered “appropriate” for 79 percent of patients, “may be appropriate” for 19 percent, and “rarely appropriate” for 2 percent. The researchers found that response to previous treatment, American Society of Anesthesiologists Physical Status Classification, and presence of muscle atrophy or fatty infiltration were the only variables that significantly and independently predicted discordance between actual treatment and the AUC recommendation. Read the abstract…
Access the AAOS AUC…

Two studies recognized for Best Poster.
During the “Breakfast in the Posters” event at the AAOS Annual Meeting this morning, James R. Ficke, MD, recognized two posters as best overall for the 2016 Annual Meeting. The authors of Poster P241 reviewed prospectively collected data on 3,530 patients with adolescent idiopathic scoliosis and found that 2.6 percent experienced major perioperative complications and 4.4 percent experienced major complications at >2 years postoperative. The authors of Poster P512 conducted a rabbit study in which they investigated the use of the Masquelet Technique and demonstrated that use of a conditioned media (growth factors, neurotrophic factors, cytokines, and signaling molecules) product of paracrine secretion of mesenchymal stem cells may promote bone growth within the membrane without the need for bone graft. View the list of best posters from the AAOS Annual Meeting…
Read the abstract of Poster P241…
Read the abstract of Poster P512…

Kappa Delta and OREF Awards presented.
The 2016 Kappa Delta and Orthopaedic Research and Educational Foundation (OREF) Awards were presented at yesterday’s Ceremonial Meeting at the AAOS 2016 Annual Meeting in Orlando, Fla. The award winners will present their papers on Sunday, March 6, during the Orthopaedic Research Society (ORS) annual meeting, being held at Disney’s Coronado Springs Resort, in Orlando, Fla. ORS invites AAOS Annual Meeting registrants to attend the ORS annual meeting on Sunday, March 6, at no cost; however, they must obtain a sticker for their badges. Stickers can be obtained on Friday, March 4, at ORS satellite check-in, located at the Orange County Convention Center, West Building, Academy Hall C. Stickers can also be obtained on Sunday, March 6, at the ORS registration desk at Disney’s Coronado Springs Resort. The award winners are as follows:

  • Francis Young-In Lee, MD, PhD—2016 Kappa Delta Ann Doner Vaughn Award
  • Edward M. Wojtys, MD, and James A. Ashton-Miller, PhD—2016 Kappa Delta Elizabeth Winston Lanier Award
  • Louis E. DeFrate, ScD—2016 Kappa Delta Young Investigator Award
  • Timothy E. Hewett, PhD—2016 OREF Clinical Research Award

Read more about Dr. Lee…
Read more about Drs. Wojtys and Ashton-Miller…
Read more about Dr. DeFrate…
Read more about Dr. Hewett…

Don’t miss out on Specialty Day!
Saturday, March 5, is Specialty Day at the AAOS Annual Meeting. Specialty Day is a day set aside for scientific programs presented by organizations that are members of the Board of Specialty Societies. Overall, 15 orthopaedic specialty societies—from the American Orthopaedic Foot & Ankle Society to the Scoliosis Research Society—will be presenting the latest research and updates on surgical techniques. Read more…

AAOS Now Daily Edition now online.
The daily edition of AAOS Now is now online on the AAOS Now website. Each day, the AAOS Now Daily Edition brings news of the AAOS Annual Meeting and much more to AAOS members both on-site and at home. Read the AAOS Now Daily Edition

Call for volunteers: OKU Evaluation Committee.
June 13 is the last day to submit your application for a position on the Orthopaedic Knowledge Update (OKU) Evaluation Committee (one member—oncology opening). The OKU Evaluation Committee develops and reviews the OKU self-assessment examination. Applicants for this position must be active or emeritus fellows with broad orthopaedic experience and a practice emphasis in oncology. Learn more and submit your application…(member login required)